Carravagio

20130112-131902.jpg

My fascination with Carravagio started when I was young, something about his 17th century art appealed to me like no other. His depictions came to life as I watched them, the light on dark drawing me in, until I was in the 17th century with them.

‘Judith and Holofernes’ formed the basis for my Year 10 art project, I depicted half of the work using a range of mediums and styles. The majesty of the original was lost in my copy, but I couldn’t part with it.

I have hunted his works around the world, most notably in Rome and Malta. In Rome I was exceedingly lucky to arrive for the 500 year celebration of his work, allowing me to see the majority of his works together. I was taken in by his still life of rotting fruit and dying flowers, something rarely seen, then or now.

Carravagio focused on people leaving the background plain, or black and empty, using light to illuminate the details and tell the story. The faces portray a range of emotions, subtle yet clear, drawing you to them.

In a time when art often portrayed similar themes, Carravagio looked at life and art a little differently. When I look at a Carravagio I feel the life he breathed into his work. His passion for life, captivating all who cast their eyes upon him.

Vision Board Themes: light, people, passion

20130112-131913.jpg

20130112-131922.jpg

20130112-131929.jpg

20130112-131934.jpg

Leave a Reply

