Red is for Rothko

20130222-144549.jpg

Did you see the play Red? It’s about Rothko at the time he was painting the commission for the Four Seasons in New York in the late 1950’s. I saw the play twice, once in London and once in Auckland. The play emulates Rothko’s works, full of emotion, passion, anger, confusion, friendship and respect.

Before I saw the play, Rothko didn’t rate much of a mention on my art radar, I didn’t even bother to go the Tate Modern retrospective when I had the chance. “Why make a fuss about Rothko?” I thought.

After the play I was captivated, enthralled, hungry for more – to understand how people could be so moved by the blocks of colour; how he represented each emotion on canvas; I am hooked.

So much so, that Rothko is currently providing the greatest source of inspiration and guidance for my own art. It is both a guide to representing inner emotions in the outer world and assurance that my art is actually art, it’s just inspired from within me not from with out.

Vision Board Themes: inner emotion, guide, passion

20130222-144151.jpg

20130222-144328.jpg

20130222-144038.jpg

20130222-144123.jpg

2 thoughts on “Red is for Rothko

Leave a Reply

