Day 14: Hamlet & Day 15: Poniard (plus a few words on creative thinking)

I think we can safely say that this represents the lazy, literal painting of someone failing to give sufficient creative thought to a challenge. Its interesting to compare my thought and painting process to that of the first few days.

At the start of 100 days, I would get a word and I would think about its literal meaning. Then I would laterally explore and play with other options – in what situations would this word arise, what associations would other people give it, how would it feel to be this word. All of which was incredibly satisfying; just letting my intellect curiously explore a concept without judgment.

For the painting itself, I might add a layer or two in the morning, let the idea metamorphose during the day and add the finishing layers at night.

All that changed when my brain became overwhelmed by the pressure to focus on the new business, that terrible habit we all get into, when work or projects and the need to be productive seems incredibly more important that allowing our creative brain to flow and explore.

I once suggested that a client do his creative activities before work, rather than leaving them as a reward at the end of the day. I believe that if we activate our creative brain in the morning with a positive, well-being focused activity then we actually set ourselves up better for the day. I think its time to take my own advice so I stop producing boring, literal, little-effort paintings.

 

Day 14: Hamlet – s small village, without a parish

Hamlet

Day 15: Poniard – a small, slender dagger

Poniard

 

Leave a Reply

